9 months in Normandy

We just returned from a 2-week trip in Normandy (just the kids and me, Gabe had some work meetings to attend) and we had a really good time!

Zora turned 9 months while we were there. Here’s the latest with her:

Let me start with the most important thing from my perspective:

Sleep: Thanks to her grandmother, she is finally night-weaned! The first night was rough for the both of them but after that she mostly stopped waking up, or when she did she was able to go back to sleep without too much trouble, until 6ish in the morning.

I can’t express what a relief this is. Nights had become this dreaded time where I knew my options would be a) sleep very badly (5 hours of interrupted sleep — never more than 3 hours at a time) or b) sleep horribly (2-3 hours) if I also happened to struggle with insomnia. So this is amazing. We are now back in Germany and so far she’s been sleeping through the night. Crossing my fingers that this is the new normal! I’m starting to feel like a human again.

– Locomotion: she crawls! She can now go where she pleases, which means she needs less entertainment but more supervision. She cruises furniture and can stand unsupported for a few seconds at a time before falling down on her butt. She wants to walk while holding hands but her technique still needs some refining.

-Food: she eats much better. Loves to munch on bread and cookies (and strawberries!). Baby food and compotes are scarfed down very messily. She still won’t drink any type of milk-like liquid from any kind of bottle (water is ok) so it looks like we’ll be nursing for a bit longer. Her allergies issues seem to be gone, I’ve gone back to eating soy and butter, and so far no reactions. I’ll try yogurts, and cheese next.

-Teeth: none!

-Words: She says Dadada and Ma-ma (actually she said this to me very clearly for the first time just before I put her in bed the first night of night-weaning… coincidence?). It looks like she is also saying “no-no-no” sometimes when she’s shaking her head. Maybe I’m imagining things?

-Personality: she has a very sunny disposition and loves to be where the action is. She is a people-person. She is quite cuddly and loves to give hugs and “kisses.” When she is bored she can get quite loud and screechy!

Leave a comment